Users

Learn how a User is defined, how to create a new one or remove one.

Adding a User

To Add a User:

  1. Go to Settings\Users, then select Add New User button
  2. Add any parameters to define this user.  Required parameters are:
    • Name
    • Extension
    • Username
    • Email

Unless there is a reason to modify or add a parameter not listed above, just leave everything else as defaults or blank.

Here is a simple video

Removing a User

The most important issue when removing a user from your account is what to do with their Voicemail Messages.  Removing a user will delete the Voicemail Box and any Messages in it along with the User unless steps are taken to preserve the mailbox.  This procedure is outlined step #1

It is also important to understand how the User you plan to delete is built into your current system and how removing them will affect the behavior.  Users can be components of other parts of your service, such as Menus, Groups, Devices, Fax accounts, Mailboxes.   All of these relationships will change if the user is deleted.  Prior to deleting any user, it is recommended to review your settings to see how removing the User will affect the performance of your service.

To remove a User:

  1. If you plan to keep the voicemail messages associated with this user’s voicemail box, remove or detach the mailbox from this user prior to removing the User.  To do this,

Settings\Users\Edit, change Mailbox to “None”

It is now safe to remove the User from your account without losing voicemail messages.

2. Remove the User,

Settings\Users, select “Remove”

 

If the user had a voicemail box and you want to check their messages, you can easily “Share” that voicemail box with your user.  This will allow you to see and play that voicemail box’s messages in the portal or the mobile app.  To learn how to share a mailbox, please go here.

Mailboxes

User Definitions

* Required fields

Name* – This is the name of the person using the device. This is the internal name displayed in rosters and for callerID. There are no restrictions on naming. Spaces are fine.

Extension* – This is the extension number for a user. Any device associated with the user will be affiliated by Extension number.

User name* – This is used for authentication and is not seen.

SIP Password – Used for configuration of endpoints.  Don’t change unless you are sure you know what its for.

Max Bindings – This is the maximum number of devices you can register to this account.

PIN – this is different from your voicemail PIN on My Phone. This User Pin is used for authenticating features (oncall etc).

External Caller ID Name – Similar to CNAM – it is the name that will appear on the phone of people you call. If you leave this blank, the name that will appear is CNAM. If you enter anything here it will override CNAM.

External Caller ID Number – The number that will appear to people you call. If you leave it blank, the number that will appear is the Location’s Caller ID. If you enter anything here, it will override that number.

Email*: The email address associated with the user and is used for portal login and password resets. If you change this email address, you will log in using the new email address.

Mobile – this is an alternate number that can be used to contact this user. For example, if the user wants to forward all their calls to a different number, they will enter it here. It is used in conjunction with Forward Behavior. The number can be a 10-digit external number or an extension number of another user.

Call Timeout – This is the number of seconds your phone will ring before going to your voice mail box or in between Sequential calls if Forward Behavior set to Sequential.

Forward Behavior – This controls the user’s devices Alt/Mobile ring behaviors. If you want just your RingRx Phone to ring, set to Ring My Phone. If you want your Phone and your Alt/Mobile to ring at the same time, set to Simultaneous. If you want your RingRx phone to ring first, then your Alt/Mobile to ring second, set to Sequential. If you just want your Alt/Mobile to ring, set to Forward.

Location – This is the location your calls will route through.

Mailbox – You can select your voicemail messages to go to any voicemail box. This is usually your own voicemail box.

Email to send notifications – Notifications will be sent to email addresses listed here. Multiple addresses should be separated by comma.

Email to send voice message – (Not HIPAA compliant). Voice file for each new received message will be sent to email addresses listed here. Multiple addresses should be separated by comma.

Fax Extension – The fax service out of which this user will send outbound faxes.

On Call Remind Minutes – Number of minutes prior to a shift start this user will be notified prior to the start of an On Call shift.  Leave alone unless you are using the On-Call system.

Mobile Stun – This is a special technical setting that helps overcome issues with some cellular companies data communications that can occur with calls from the mobile app. Before activating this setting, please contact RingRx. Enabling this requires a reset to your app.

Enable SMS – (Sending text messages with PHI to unprotected devices is not HIPAA compliant) Enables the user to send and receive text messages. Users must also have an outbound SMS number specified for this to work.

Role – Admin rights allow the user to change all of a company’s settings, including that of other users. User is for most people unless you are managing the entire company’s system. Fax is for fax machines.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Related Articles